I’m S-A-V-E-D

September 28, 2009

BSB-Precious Moments

I first heard of the Blue Sky Boys at a Gillian Welch show.  She and David Rawlings were talking about how they developed their haunting style of close harmony.  It turns out that long ago, when they were mere mortals at the Berkeley School of Music, they would sing Blue Sky Boys songs, except that that they would flip the high and the low part.  Anyway, that was enough for me to go find the music of the Blue Sky Boys, Bill and Earl Bolick.  They belong to the long list of distinguished country acts known as brother duets, which includes the brothers Monroe, Stanley, Dixon, Louvin, Everly, and Jim & Jesse.  The Encyclopedia of Country Music (pg. 56) posits that the ability of siblings to phrase and harmonize so well is due to “similar vocal timbres, common word pronunciations, familiarity with each other’s singing styles, and shared cultural origins.”  I’m sure the Bros. Seznec would attest to this.  In any case, all of these things are evident in this gospel spelling ditty from the 1940s.

I’m S-A-V-E-D – The Blue Sky Boys

One Response to “I’m S-A-V-E-D”

  1. cocoringo Says:

    I would only add my own personal favorite to the list, The Delmore Brothers, Alton and Rabon. I’ll post one of theirs soon…
    -cocoringo


Leave a Reply

