The Studio One Recordings

November 18, 2009

This song came on the other night in a little Parisian café where I was playing old-time music with kindred spirits, instantly reminding me that I needed to put a post together focusing on the old Studio One recordings from Jamaica. The brainchild of Coxsone Dodd, these recordings contain some of the grooviest reggae, rocksteady, and ska music you’ll ever hear. This first tune is off of Studio One – Scorcher:

Mun-Dun-Gu by Cedric IM Brooks & The Sound Dimension

I got into all this stuff when years back I stumbled upon Souljazz Records. Bowled over at the treasures they were re-releasing in beautiful packaging, I began collecting as many of their cds as my budget could accommodate (meaning that ever since becoming a full-time musician I’ve stopped collecting – funny how that works!).
You can get all the Soul Jazz released Studio One stuff on this page or on amazon and elsewhere.

This next song, off of Studio One Roots vol. 1 is a harrowing tribute to the first prime minister of the Republic of the Congo, Patrice Lumumba, who was assassinated in 1961:

Lumumbo by Bunnie & Skitter.

In addition to the Studio One comps, there are many other amazing compilations to be had on Souljazz. I’ll post a couple at a later date.

Leave a Reply

